A Christian Rant

I was recently accused by an atheist for being illogical.  He had shared a picture of some guy on Facebook that said something along the lines of Christians are idiots because God can’t forbid murder and then order Christians to kill people.

I commented and said that his logic was illogical.  Of course, an Atheist has not studied the Bible with the intent of finding truth, so they read contradictions into whatever they can.  I can’t argue with his conclusion, however, because my foundation of truth is his little conspiracy playground.

He then commented about abortion.  He said if Christians really believed abortion was wrong, they need to be protesting and burning down abortion clinics.

Right…  because putting people in danger is exactly what an anti-violence advocate should do to raise awareness.

I then commented and happened to mention something about Atheists having no moral foundation.  I hit a nerve with that one.

“How can you say I have no morals?!”

“Most Christians have no morals either.”

“Atheists understand morality more than a magic sky man.”

“You can’t say I’m not a good person, that makes you a bad person!”

I then asked if Atheists believed in something being absolutely right or wrong.

“Obviously not.  Sometimes violence is needed.  Sometimes you have to kill.”

“Of course not.  You can’t say something is wrong for everyone all the time.”

So.  You claim it’s stupid to have a moral foundation- something that lays out a specific right and wrong actions.  Obviously, it’s ridiculous to expect everyone to operate off the same moral code.  However, you get a little touchy when I say you have no moral foundation.

Which is it?  A moral is, by definition, the holding of principles for right and wrong conduct.  If you can’t define right and wrong, because it is continuously changing, then you can’t have morals.  If you claim you have morals, then you have to believe in absolute rights and wrongs.

Furthermore, you claim Christians are hypocrites.  You claim that the principle of a God who can apparently outlaw murder, but order his people into war, is proof that it’s a ridiculous thing to believe in.

But… the  logical thing to believe in is that sometimes things are wrong, and sometimes they’re right?  And while we’re on the subject, if an Atheist believes that everyone gets to define their own rights and wrongs, then if I believe Christianity is right, you should not only tolerate that, but embrace it.  If you believe the right thing is that everyone gets to define right and wrong, then if I believe something is right, it has to be. 

Meaning, by Atheistic logic, Christianity is right.  It can’t be wrong if I don’t want it to be.  Facts support whatever I want them to, because I get to define what is right and wrong for me.  And since you believe that each person gets to be right about anything, then if I think the sky is blue, but you think it’s purple, we’re both right!  Screw science.  I believe what I want.

The very mentality that Atheists claim makes us crazy, is actually the only mentality allowed by Atheistic logic.

You may not like the idea of absolute rights and wrongs.  You may feel more comfortable with your failings if you believe they don’t matter.  You may want a world of people with their heads in the sand, but just because you are uncomfortable with God doesn’t mean He’s not there.

About sydbosque

I'm a young stay-at-home mom. I had quite a colorful past, explained in some detail in my testimony. I met my husband while I was waitressing overnights after graduating college. We were married six weeks after we started dating, and were pregnant two months later. My life has been FULL of blessings and struggles. I am surrounded by a loving, encouraging family, and they have brought me through some very rough times. I am writing this blog because at one time, I considered abandoning my faith. I read book after book trying to prove God to myself. After all of my research left me still wondering, I reflected on my life. I realized the most powerful evidence of the existence of God was His influence on my past. My hope is that if my blog can help even one person see God, then it has fulfilled its purpose. I don't think I have all of the answers, and please feel free to express disagreement -respectfully- where needed. I'm learning as I write, too. Please tell me all about yourself and your testimony! I love to hear inspiring stories!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Christian Rant

  1. Hardethaewoh says:

    I never get to understand these Atheists…& I somehow got lost trying to comprehend this…
    But your last sentence says it all. Believe it or not, God is God!

    Like

Leave a Reply

