“Hello, my name is _____, and I’m a Hypocritical Christian”

Wow!  It’s been a while.  Sick babies have a way of trumping blog time.  My daughter has decided she never wants to be put down, so I have become a skilled, one-armed ninja maid for the time being.

Anyways, I have also completely not stuck with my commitment to read the Bible daily, in order to get through it in one year.  I almost cheated, and just sat down one night and scheduled all my posts for the next two weeks so it looked like I was reading daily, but honestly the only thing stopping me was I lost my laptop charger.

I was kind of worried, to tell the truth.  I was thinking to myself, “What will my tiny little following think of me, a Christian blogger, not sticking to my pledge to get through the Bible?”

Then, I had a realization.   I was worried about what other people would think of me if I didn’t cheat to make it appear like I was reading the Bible every day just so I could get through it.  Wow!  Flash the neon “Hypocrite” sign.

Then, I had a bigger realization.  That’s exactly the mentality of Christians today.  We aren’t so much worried about missing church because we will miss a great lesson, we are worried that we are missing our Sunday Social brownie points.

We are more worried about what other people think we are doing, than what we are actually doing.  We may miss Sunday morning because of an important football game, but we disguise it in Christian-ese, saying, “Well, I woke up this morning and just felt like God was telling me to spend a day of solitude with my family.”  That way, at least people think all of our decisions are Godly.

We use our Bibles as a status symbol, too.  I wanted to get through the whole Bible just to say I had read the entire thing.  As if it’s going to give me a cute little participation award.  We have turned it into one of those British scholarly attitudes with the little cups of tea.  “Well, read in Proverbs that we should look at it this way, but Joe disagrees.  We can’t very well take him seriously, though, he sees Revelations as entirely literal.”  And then everyone has a good British chuckle.

Many people say they left the Christian faith because we act this way.  We say one thing, do another, and act like our sins are non-existent.

It’s true.

We all act that way.  We all feel like we have to act Christian in order to be Christian.  We have to attend church events, be in a certain number of volunteer programs, only let our children watch certain movies, know at least 14 Bible verses by heart, and have never voted for a Democrat.

None of those are bad things, but none of them make you a Christian.  We need to stop pretending we care about becoming stronger Christians, and start actually caring.  That starts by admitting we have a problem.

I’ll go first.  Yes, my daughter has been sick.  However, the real reason I haven’t been committed to writing on here, or sticking with my Bible project, is because we just got Netflix hooked up, and I’ve been watching Numbers for a week solid.  I will also probably hit “publish,” grab a cup of coffee, and finish Season 6 before I do anything productive.  I haven’t read my Bible in a week because it’s in the car, and I’m too lazy to go get it.

There.  That felt good.

It’s also nothing that God didn’t know already.  He knows  I have a lazy streak.  He knows I have perseverance issues.  He knows I get distracted by the TV.  Hiding those human qualities will only put a fire under them.  Admitting that I’ve got some character blubber to trim is the first step towards actually doing it.

I took my first step.  Your turn!

About sydbosque

I'm a young stay-at-home mom. I had quite a colorful past, explained in some detail in my testimony. I met my husband while I was waitressing overnights after graduating college. We were married six weeks after we started dating, and were pregnant two months later. My life has been FULL of blessings and struggles. I am surrounded by a loving, encouraging family, and they have brought me through some very rough times. I am writing this blog because at one time, I considered abandoning my faith. I read book after book trying to prove God to myself. After all of my research left me still wondering, I reflected on my life. I realized the most powerful evidence of the existence of God was His influence on my past. My hope is that if my blog can help even one person see God, then it has fulfilled its purpose. I don't think I have all of the answers, and please feel free to express disagreement -respectfully- where needed. I'm learning as I write, too. Please tell me all about yourself and your testimony! I love to hear inspiring stories!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

