Self-Righteousness Block: The Dilemma Unique To Christian Bloggers

Yep, I got it.

Here I was, writing away about all things Godly, and I just couldn’t do it anymore.

I sat down, staring at my screen, waiting for colorful words of wisdom to dance onto the page.  Then I kept waiting.  I made coffee.  I ate a sandwich.  I did laundry.  Still no wisdom.

Then, I got a phone call.  I am going to keep my personal life to myself, so I’ll just say that this caller pointed out a major issue that I need to work on.  She made me feel about 3″ tall.

In other words, she popped my self-righteous balloon.

We all cycle through periods of humility, confidence, and self-righteousness.  I am now back to square one; solidly standing in humility.

Fortunately, this also means I have broken through my Christian writer’s block.  I had been so wrapped up in trying to teach, that I forgot I still had a lot to learn.  Seeing my own problems in the spotlight has reminded me why I first started this blog.  I wanted to encourage other people to love in a world of hate, not tout myself as an authority on theology.

So, I’ll keep writing.  Hopefully, you will keep reading.  And whether I have a million followers, or just one, I know I’ll keep learning.

About sydbosque

I'm a young stay-at-home mom. I had quite a colorful past, explained in some detail in my testimony. I met my husband while I was waitressing overnights after graduating college. We were married six weeks after we started dating, and were pregnant two months later. My life has been FULL of blessings and struggles. I am surrounded by a loving, encouraging family, and they have brought me through some very rough times. I am writing this blog because at one time, I considered abandoning my faith. I read book after book trying to prove God to myself. After all of my research left me still wondering, I reflected on my life. I realized the most powerful evidence of the existence of God was His influence on my past. My hope is that if my blog can help even one person see God, then it has fulfilled its purpose. I don't think I have all of the answers, and please feel free to express disagreement -respectfully- where needed. I'm learning as I write, too. Please tell me all about yourself and your testimony! I love to hear inspiring stories!
This entry was posted in My Testimony and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

