“I Tolerate You”

Gee, thanks.

That’s every girl’s dream.  To hear those three little words:  “I tolerate you.”

Yep, women love Tolerance Stories.

Forget Twilight, we want So The Sun Went Down Once; No Big Deal.

We don’t want Fifty Shades of Grey; paint our bookshelves with It’s Still Black…

And for my wedding song, I would like you to play, “You Had Me At ‘How You Doin’?”

Ahhh… satire.  And yet, “tolerance” is toted as the highest tier of social morality.

I find this ironic.  We have so many campaigns for this noble virtue.  Everybody with a controversial label is begging for it.  You’re gay?  You want tolerance.  You’re pro-choice?  You want tolerance.  You’re a Cowboys fan?  You want tolerance.

Is that all you’re worthy of?  Tolerance? 

Is that really what’s missing in your life?  To hear someone say, “I tolerate you”?

God doesn’t tolerate you.  He loves you.  He didn’t send His Son to die out of indifference.  He wasn’t so full of complacency that He wrote a book about it.  His greatest commandment didn’t center on neutrality.

He finds you worthy of so much more than to not be hated.  You’re the child of a King!  You are worthy to live the life of royalty!  He wants to shower you with blessings.  He wants you to know a love so deep and fulfilling, that you literally jump for joy.

For those of you who believe Christians aren’t tolerant, you’re absolutely right.  We don’t accept such low standards.  We want so much more for you!

So please, put to rest the desire for neutrality.  We are called to something much deeper.  We may not agree with what you do, but we love you right where you are.

Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.

   I Peter 4:8

About sydbosque

I'm a young stay-at-home mom. I had quite a colorful past, explained in some detail in my testimony. I met my husband while I was waitressing overnights after graduating college. We were married six weeks after we started dating, and were pregnant two months later. My life has been FULL of blessings and struggles. I am surrounded by a loving, encouraging family, and they have brought me through some very rough times. I am writing this blog because at one time, I considered abandoning my faith. I read book after book trying to prove God to myself. After all of my research left me still wondering, I reflected on my life. I realized the most powerful evidence of the existence of God was His influence on my past. My hope is that if my blog can help even one person see God, then it has fulfilled its purpose. I don't think I have all of the answers, and please feel free to express disagreement -respectfully- where needed. I'm learning as I write, too. Please tell me all about yourself and your testimony! I love to hear inspiring stories!
This entry was posted in So you gave up on God..., The Modern Church and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

