Maybe He’s Born With It!: Excuse To Sin Debunked

We’ve all heard that excuse.

“He can’t help that he’s a homosexual.  He was born that way.”

“His drinking isn’t his fault.  Alcoholism runs in the family.”

“She was predisposed to murder.  It’s been genetically proven.”

Now, in case you haven’t noticed, this post is going to be wildly controversial.

Fair warning.

The most tossed-around verbage I’ve heard to excuse homosexuality is that, “they were just born that way.”  There was no choosing.  There was no moment when their body decided to abandon tradition, and follow the not-so-straight path.

The same excuse has been used to pardon those with substance abuse issues, or lately, even serial killers.  “My genes made me do it!”  Solidly placing blame on chemical reactions instead of a person.

These arguments raise the question, “So if they’re born that way, how can their actions be wrong?”  I mean, it’s not like you designed yourself.  You didn’t pour a gay mold.  You had no choice!  It was forced upon you!  People can’t blame you for something you have no control over.

Ironically, they’re right.

However, they need to share the spotlight.  I was born that way too!

Yep.  I was born a sinner.  I was predisposed to lie, cheat, possibly rob banks, and indulge in a few bottles of bourbon.  I was born with the desire to fall into temptation, and sometimes, the beds of scandalous men.

So were you.  And your neighbor.  And your grandparents.  And your uncle’s sister’s stepdad’s golf coach.

Every.  Single.  Person.  Is born into sin.

We are all quite literally cursed from birth.  The urge to fall away from what is right, and cling to what is wrong, is an innate desire we cannot escape.  Our flesh wants nothing more than to follow those urges straight to the depths of Hell.

     For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being,

Romans 7:18-25

     This natural lust for sin is exactly what we are called to avoid.

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Romans 12:2

     We cannot avoid sin by our own will.  We must daily submit our fleshly desires to the Lord, and ask that we are instead guided by His will.

     The battle between flesh and spirit will be fought until the day we die.  We will constantly be tempted to fall back into our natural, sinful ways, and sometimes, that’s exactly what we end up doing.

     However, we are not allowed to use that as an excuse.  We are clearly given instructions to stay on the straight and narrow path.  By renewing our mind in God, we are able to choose righteousness, even while our flesh is pulling us in the opposite direction.

     So, yes, it’s true.  If you’re a homosexual, you were born that way.  If you’re a serial killer, you were born that way.  If you’re an alcoholic, you were born that way.

     However, you have no more right to sin than your neighbor, who was born to smoke pot, or your tax accountant, who was born to steal, or your grandma, who was born to manipulate.

     We all fall short.  Only by the grace and forgiveness of God are we saved.  If you sin, all you can do is acknowledge it and repent.  This means recognizing that even though you were born to sin, you are not a slave to it.  You have a choice.

     Thoughts?  Comments?  Raging retorts?  Please comment below!

About sydbosque

I'm a young stay-at-home mom. I had quite a colorful past, explained in some detail in my testimony. I met my husband while I was waitressing overnights after graduating college. We were married six weeks after we started dating, and were pregnant two months later. My life has been FULL of blessings and struggles. I am surrounded by a loving, encouraging family, and they have brought me through some very rough times. I am writing this blog because at one time, I considered abandoning my faith. I read book after book trying to prove God to myself. After all of my research left me still wondering, I reflected on my life. I realized the most powerful evidence of the existence of God was His influence on my past. My hope is that if my blog can help even one person see God, then it has fulfilled its purpose. I don't think I have all of the answers, and please feel free to express disagreement -respectfully- where needed. I'm learning as I write, too. Please tell me all about yourself and your testimony! I love to hear inspiring stories!
This entry was posted in The Modern Church and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe He’s Born With It!: Excuse To Sin Debunked

  1. Hardethaewoh says:

    Oh my! I can’t but agree with you!
    We are all born with a disposition to sin… the imagination of man’s heart is evil from his youth;…(Gen. 8:21) But the birth of Christ gave us a choice! Either choose to be ‘Reborn’ or stick to the sinful filthy flesh!
    Its a choice between life and death; between freedom and slavery to sin.
    We can choose to do what’s right and good to all Or what is not!
    We can choose to love instead of hate!

    Great post!…& I am definitely following this blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

