The Devil’s In The Details: Our Role In The Deception Of Our Country

I’m so tired of political bullshit.  Yes, I know, for a Christian blogger, all curse words should be off-limits.  But I’m betting a little voice inside of you sang, “hallelujah!”

Anyways.  There’s no shortage of stories these days where some group of people were offended by some other group of people.  Either a white guy shot a black guy, or a gay guy was refused service by a straight guy, or a Muslim was offended by a Christian.

There’s no lack of issues to choose sides on.  Abortion, the death penalty, the border, Isis, etc.  Every news story gives an opportunity for any human with access to the internet to furiously demean our opposable thumbs to the task of typing out a very long, angry comment on a very small, otherwise innocent smart device.

I admit, I’ve done my fair share of comment-preaching.  It’s like a virtual slap-Jack game, where you’re trying to be the FIRST person to reply to a hideously stupid comment just so people know which comment you are referring to in your infinite words of wisdom.

Have you noticed where this has led us?  With every snide comment and well-meaning analyzation, we have played right into the Devil’s hands.  Remember this verse?

“Jesus knew their thoughts and said to them, “Every kingdom divided against itself will be ruined, and every city or household divided against itself will not stand.”

Matthew 12:25

     There are many well-meaning Christians out there arguing against moral wrongs.  And as Christians we are called to spread the word.  However, the Devil is using that very calling against us.

     We are continually faced with issues where we feel like, as Christians, we have to pick sides.  In picking sides, and arguing our decision, we are creating division.  We are segregating ourselves into smaller and smaller sects.

     It’s no longer an argument between a Republican and a Democrat.  It’s now an argument between a Tea Party/Pro-Life/Anti-Mexican/The Sabbath IS On Sunday/Reinstate Reagan/Pop Tarts Are Not Guns white guy and a Global Warming/Feminist/Anti-Israel/We Are All Gods/I’m Proud I Evolved From A Monkey/Communism Is The Answer half black half some-other-deprived-minority transgender over the Redskins calamity.

     We keep fighting false arguments.  Is our government out of control?  Yes.  Are there ill-intentioned people leading crusades against ideals we hold dear?  Absolutely.  Are there communities who seem to exist simply to hate other communities?  Seems like it.

    As tempting as the Devil makes it to retaliate in defense of our Christian beliefs, we are fueling his fire.  We are called to spread the Word, not accusations.  There are many articles now targeting Christians- claiming we preach love, and then spew hate at anyone who disagrees with us on current events.

AND IT’S TRUE

     If we truly want to spread the good news, and let everyone know that Jesus is waiting to welcome them with open arms, we have to see past the dividing lines that have been drawn.  Instead of letting ourselves be boxed in by stances on popular injustices, we must choose to see those on the other side as God sees them- His children.

     We must remember that although we may be Pro-this and Anti-that, we are fundamentally Christian.  When an angry comment writhes of “Bible-thumping idiots who believe in mythical stories about big boats,” we need to put aside the urge to defend ourselves, because we are not what’s important here.

     In order to bring people to Jesus, we must follow His example.  Forgive those who judge.  Forgive those who accuse.  Forgive those who persecute.  Forgive and love, because He first loved you.

Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.  Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

Matthew 5:10-12

     Does this mean we condone sin?  Absolutely not.  Sins are still sins.  But we are not here to judge sinners.  We are here to love them, because we were once sinners ourselves.  Paul wasn’t exactly a saint, and he became one of the most devout followers in history.

     So, next time you read an article on Burger King making an all-black burger, and are confronted with comments claiming racism, animal cruelty, tax evasion, communism, WWIII, etc., remember the following steps to true Christian commenting:

 (more advanced Christians can skip to step 5)

1.  Take a deep breath as you soak up the realization that true idiots do exist

2.  Repent and ask forgiveness for your previous thought

3.  Plan what you would really like to say in retaliation

4.  Repent and ask forgiveness for your previous thought

5.  Ask the Lord to show you if and how to reply

6.  Wait for a response

Repeat as needed.

About sydbosque

I'm a young stay-at-home mom. I had quite a colorful past, explained in some detail in my testimony. I met my husband while I was waitressing overnights after graduating college. We were married six weeks after we started dating, and were pregnant two months later. My life has been FULL of blessings and struggles. I am surrounded by a loving, encouraging family, and they have brought me through some very rough times. I am writing this blog because at one time, I considered abandoning my faith. I read book after book trying to prove God to myself. After all of my research left me still wondering, I reflected on my life. I realized the most powerful evidence of the existence of God was His influence on my past. My hope is that if my blog can help even one person see God, then it has fulfilled its purpose. I don't think I have all of the answers, and please feel free to express disagreement -respectfully- where needed. I'm learning as I write, too. Please tell me all about yourself and your testimony! I love to hear inspiring stories!
This entry was posted in The Modern Church and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

