Five Reasons I Hate Blogs, And Why I’m Writing One

Never, in a million years (or to be true to my Christian faith, six-thousand years), did I see myself writing a blog.  Even the word “blog” just sounds unintelligent.  It’s as if the definition of a blog is in its very name- blaaaaaaah ugh.

In fact, if my friends and family knew I was beginning my very own blog, they would look at me in disbelief and wonder where I was hiding my Oxycodone.  They would also wonder how, in my constant state of procrastination, I intend on ever writing more than half a post.

Well, my hopefully-soon-to-be readers, let me just say I have one amazing reason to hold myself accountable to writing to you every-so-often.  But first, you must understand why this is such a major undertaking for me.

You see, I have five ingrained, heartfelt, passionate reasons why I hate blogs.

1.  They are (mostly) pointless.  Have you ever seen Julie & Julia?  She blogs about her life.  This may come as a shock to most people, but most people don’t care about your life.  I don’t read blogs about people’s lives, and you wouldn’t read one about mine.  I actually had a friend (arch-nemesis, really) who blogged about how she organized her boyfriend’s pantry with baby food jars and chalk paint.  Not surprisingly, she had two followers:  herself and her poor boyfriend.

2.  Most bloggers can’t write.  I am one of those people that most people hate.  When you update your Facebook status as, “I can’t believe their parking there truck over they’re,” I will block you.  When you tell me things went “good,” I will have a mini-rant about good and well.  Please don’t even get me started on the under-use of commas, or the unfortunate misunderstanding that quotation marks and italics are interchangeable.

3.  People are stupid.  Yes, I am starting a Christian blog, and I think lots of people are stupid.  I read a story the other day where a woman told her man that the paternity test was positive- 97%.  He went into a blackout rage about who the other 3% belonged to.  I have many other examples, but just think back to the last thing that made you lose faith in our youth, and you will have to agree with me on this one.

4.  Bloggers have no credibility.  Which university, organization, or educational establishment exactly do most bloggers belong to?  What makes you think you’re qualified to write a blog where you give others advice on quantum physics in between your shifts at McDonald’s?  Why should I believe your analysis on current events when your mom had to change the channel from Bob The Builder to the news on September 11th?

5.  Blogs are a last-ditch effort at a writing career.  Never written anything successful, ever?  Never fear, you can post your failures here!  I feel like only those who can’t focus long enough to write a book, or don’t care about formatting enough to write scripts, or who believe free-form poetry actually has no form, will put all of that half-effort into a blog.  Obviously because professionals in their field “just don’t understand” their style.

I realize as an intro to my own blog, this must seem rather harsh coming from a self-proclaimed Christian.  I’m creating an entire website based on love, humility, and an all-powerful God while simultaneously tearing down everyone else who claims that their opinions matter as much as mine.  However, before you jump ship on me, please take the time to read my one reason why I have given up previous suppositions, and caved to modern-day trends.

This blog is for His glory, not mine.  I was in church a few Sundays ago, and my pastor challenged the congregation to do something.  He said that everyone has one thing that they know they are meant to do, but haven’t done for some reason.  Everyone has a purpose for their strengths, and to truly honor God, we should ask Him what He intended us to do with them.

Obviously, God didn’t create me and bless me with words of, “One day, little one, you will reach twelve people with a blog.”  But, He did give me an ability to write.  He also gave me an ability to communicate His Word in ways that people can understand.  He unfortunately did not give me the ability to focus long enough to write a book, which brought me here.

I truly believe that our country is in a world of hurt.  Every day God is questioned, cast aside, and cursed.  Christians are more commonly being labeled “intolerant,” “unintelligent,” and “archaic.”  Unfortunately, most Christians respond in intolerant, unintelligent ways, and using archaic arguments.

If there is any time the world needs God, it is now.  If there is any time that Christians needs to learn humility and love, it is now.  We need people in the trenches.  We need people in soup kitchens.  We need people at the pulpit.  We need people leading our youth.  Most importantly, we need every Christian, no matter their calling, to remember why they are here.

This is the purpose for my blog.  It is not to give you my mind-altering worldview, or to criticize our government, or to argue pro-life, or to condemn homosexuals.  My purpose is to remind you of your purpose.  It is to act as a community of encouragement and debate.  It is to serve as a realization that you are not alone.  It is to give you hope in a world full of hate.

As a disclaimer, I am only human.  I will write what I feel led to write, and you comment as you feel led to comment.  I’m no more enlightened than anyone else.  Although I feel like God’s hand is in this blog, it’s not like I’m writing the Bible.  Feel free to disagree, correct, add to, or downright hate what I have to say.  Please, however, keep commentary respectful.

And with that, I would like to propose a virtual toast to my first blog!

About sydbosque

I'm a young stay-at-home mom. I had quite a colorful past, explained in some detail in my testimony. I met my husband while I was waitressing overnights after graduating college. We were married six weeks after we started dating, and were pregnant two months later. My life has been FULL of blessings and struggles. I am surrounded by a loving, encouraging family, and they have brought me through some very rough times. I am writing this blog because at one time, I considered abandoning my faith. I read book after book trying to prove God to myself. After all of my research left me still wondering, I reflected on my life. I realized the most powerful evidence of the existence of God was His influence on my past. My hope is that if my blog can help even one person see God, then it has fulfilled its purpose. I don't think I have all of the answers, and please feel free to express disagreement -respectfully- where needed. I'm learning as I write, too. Please tell me all about yourself and your testimony! I love to hear inspiring stories!
This entry was posted in How This Blog Came To Be and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Reasons I Hate Blogs, And Why I’m Writing One

  1. I enjoyed this…I feel like you…lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

